Morning Egg Muffins

We all know the mornings can be hectic and I’ve been seeing this egg muffin recipe pop up a lot on Pinterest. I thought I would give it a go and see how they turned out.

Tomato, Ham & Cheese Egg Muffins
Tomato, Ham & Cheese Egg Muffins

To my surprised the turned out really good and were super easy to make. There are endless possibilities to choose from and it’s great because you can make them on Sunday night and have breakfast for the rest of the week!

These pictured are made with tomatoes, basil, ham, low fat cheddar cheese and egg beaters, to cut back on cholesterol (I know I’m still too young to be worrying about it, but my family has a long line of high cholesterol, so I’m trying to get a jump start on that because I know I am doooooomed) and that pesky saturated fat.

Tomato, Ham and Cheese Egg Muffins
Tomato, Ham and Cheese Egg Muffins

Ingredients:

– 1 carton of egg beaters or egg whites
– 1 tomato chopped
– A couple slices of ham (Trader Joes has an excellent Canadian bacon
version)
– Salt, Pepper and Basil
– Low fat shredded cheddar cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350. Spray a muffin tin with non-stick spray and then pour each muffin tin about 3/4th the way full with egg beaters. (You’ll get about 9 muffins withe one carton) Then add in tomatoes and ham (or whatever add-ins you want). Next sprinkles a little cheese and then salt, pepper and basil (or any other spice). Then finally stir each muffin tin so ingredients are all evenly dispersed.

Then bake for about 20 minutes or until knife inserted comes out clean. ***Tip, once cooked through, turn off the oven and leave the muffins in there until oven has slightly cooled. This helps the egg muffins from sinking in. If you’re worried about the tops burning, place a sheet of tinfoil over the top of the pan.

Leave a comment